MEET THE AUTHOR
Hi, I'm Genesis and welcome to the Whispering Chapters site! You'll find all things book-related and much more. Go on and take a look around!

READ THESE FIRST

Latest on the blog

YA Books to Read If You Like Mystery

Something I've noticed lately is how how well-written some young adult mystery books are! Some even come with an amazing shocking factor! Typically, I'm good at figuring out the mystery aspect of a novel, especially if it's YA, but some have left me speechless and with my mind close to exploding!


The Inheritance Games

This book was in my top 20 of 2020. Right from the start, my brain was going in a million directions. The gazillion twists and turns this book has will leave your mind reeling. Each character held my attention from the start. The plot was executed thoroughly, with attention to detail, yet it never felt like the reader would get overwhelmed. On the contrary, I needed more!

The mind games were definitely the best part of the storyline. I'm not lying. This part was THE ABSOLUTE BEST! Now I wish I had a brain like Avery’s and the Hawthorne’s boys.

Synopsis: A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why--or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man's touch--and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes.

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he's determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather's last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.


Stalking Jack the Ripper series
I think everyone has heard of this series. I saw it was hyped so much, I decided to not dive into the hype train in fear it would fall flat. It wasn't until late last year I decided to give the series a chance AND I GET IT NOW!

When it comes to YA, I'm very skeptical with mystery books because they tend to be so predictable and cliché. Well, color me impressed! Each book in this series has been anything but predictable and cliché. I also didn't expect this series to be dark since it's for the Young Adult audience. I should have trusted James Patterson for representing this author. Despite it being YA, it touches on heavy topics, especially when it comes to the murders that happen during each story.
Series Synopsis: A young 17 year old girl called Audrey Rose Wadsworth navigates the world of Forensic Pathologist and uncovers serial killers around the world in the late 19th century.
   

Pride and Premeditation
This is such a great mystery twist to a classic! I love romance and basically need it in every single book I read. BUT! I was so immersed in the writing and story-line that I actually just...forgot about it. Sure, we have all the bickering and banter between Darcy and Lizzie (which I was totally here for), but I did not mind one single bit that this book lacked the romance. The investigation on the murder really takes your entire focus and you're just as eager as Lizzie in finding the culprit. Kudos to the author for making a romance lover forget about the romance! (Read my full review!)
Synopsis: A clever retelling of Pride and Prejudice that reimagines the iconic settings, characters, and romances in a thrilling and high-stakes whodunit.

When a scandalous murder shocks London high society, seventeen-year-old aspiring lawyer Lizzie Bennet seizes the opportunity to prove herself, despite the interference of Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy, the stern young heir to the prestigious firm Pemberley Associates.

Convinced the authorities have imprisoned the wrong person, Lizzie vows to solve the murder on her own. But as the case—and her feelings for Darcy—become more complicated, Lizzie discovers that her dream job could make her happy, but it might also get her killed.

Which YA books have left you completely speechless?

PIN IT!

 


Follow Me